PUBLIC HEARING OF THE TANGIPAHOA PARISH COUNCIL ON JANUARY 8, 2024, AT 5:30 P.M. AT THE TANGIPAHOA PARISH GORDON A BURGESS GOVERNMENTAL BUILDING, 206 EAST MULBERRY STREET, AMITE, LOUISIANA Mr. Vial made it known there were no items on the public hearing

MINUTES OF THE TANGIPAHOA PARISH COUNCIL JANUARY 8, 2024 MEETING

The Tangipahoa Parish Council met on the 8th day of January 2024 in Regular Session and was called to order by Mr. David Vial, Chairman following the public hearing at 5:30pm. The Chair asked that all cell phones be muted or turned off.

The Invocation was given by Councilman Vial and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Councilman Wells. The following members were <u>PRESENT</u>: Darrell Sinagra, John Ingraffia, Louis Joseph, Joseph Havis, Buddy Ridgel, Joey Mayeaux, Lionell Wells, David Vial, Brigette Hyde, Strader Cieutat

1. 2024 Election of Officers – The Chair opened the floor for nominations to the Chair. Mrs. Hyde nominated David Vial, seconded by Mr. Joseph. Motion by Mr. Ridgel to close nominations, seconded by Mrs. Hyde. Roll call vote as follows: YEA: Mr. Sinagra, Mr. Ingraffia, Mr. Joseph, Mr. Havis, Mr. Ridgel, Mr. Mayeaux, Mr. Wells, Mr. Vial, Mrs. Hyde, Mrs. Cieutat. By acclamation David Vial is elected 2024 Chair.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations to the Co-Chair. Mr. Joseph nominated Brigette Hyde, seconded by Mr. Ingraffia. Motion by Mr. Joseph to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Mayeaux. Roll call vote as follows: YEA: Mr. Sinagra, Mr. Ingraffia, Mr. Joseph, Mr. Havis, Mr. Ridgel, Mr. Mayeaux, Mr. Wells, Mr. Vial, Mrs. Hyde, Mrs. Cieutat. By acclamation Brigette Hyde is elected 2024 Co-Chair.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations to the Clerk of Council. Mr. Wells nominated Jill DeSouge, seconded by Mr. Joseph. Motion by Mr. Joseph to close nominations, seconded by Mrs. Hyde. Roll call vote as follows: YEA: Mr. Sinagra, Mr. Ingraffia, Mr. Joseph, Mr. Havis, Mr. Ridgel, Mr. Mayeaux, Mr. Wells, Mr. Vial, Mrs. Hyde, Mrs. Cieutat. By acclamation Jill DeSouge is elected 2024 Clerk of Council.

<u>ADOPTION OF MINUTES</u>- Motion by Mr. Wells, seconded by Mr. Joseph to adopt the minutes of the regular meeting dated December 26, 2023. Roll call vote as follows: YEA: Mr. Sinagra, Mr. Ingraffia, Mr. Joseph, Mr. Havis, Mr. Ridgel, Mr. Mayeaux, Mr. Wells, Mr. Vial, Mrs. Hyde, Mrs. Cieutat

PUBLIC INPUT – No one from the public asked to speak

PARISH PRESIDENT'S REPORT

- 2. APPROVAL TO SEEK BIDS Motion by Mr. Ridgel, seconded by Mr. Wells to approve to seek bids for Installation of Geosynthetic Materials part of construction of Cell 16 at Landfill. Roll call vote as follows: YEA: Mr. Sinagra, Mr. Ingraffia, Mr. Joseph, Mr. Havis, Mr. Ridgel, Mr. Mayeaux, Mr. Wells, Mr. Vial, Mrs. Hyde, Mrs. Cieutat
- 3. APPROVAL of 2023 Surplus of Assets Item removed from agenda

REGULAR BUSINESS

INTRODUCTION OF ORDINANCE

4. INTRODUCTION of T.P. Ordinance No. 24-01 - An Ordinance to authorize the Tangipahoa Parish Council-President Government to accept the donation of immovable properties and assets from Eastern Heights Water Works Association, Inc. and to authorize the Parish President or his authorized designee to sign any and all documents in regard to the acceptance of the aforementioned donation – Motion by Mr. Havis, seconded by Mr. Joseph to introduce T.P. Ordinance No. 24-01 and set public hearing Monday, January 22, 2024, at 5:30pm for the purpose of receiving input on the adoption thereof. Roll call vote as follows: YEA: Mr. Sinagra, Mr. Ingraffia, Mr. Joseph, Mr. Havis, Mr. Ridgel, Mr. Mayeaux, Mr. Wells, Mr. Vial, Mrs. Hyde, Mrs. Cieutat

BEER, WINE, AND LIQUOR PERMITS - None

LEGAL MATTERS - None

COUNCILMEN'S PRIVILEGES - None

ADJOURN

With no further discussion, Motion by Mr. Joseph to adjourn the meeting. No opposition.

S/Jill DeSouge, Council Clerk Tangipahoa Parish Council S/David P. Vial, Chairman Tangipahoa Parish Council